Penalties For DUI Charges In North Dakota And Minnesota
You might think that a DUI charge is a common occurrence, and the penalties are not serious. North Dakota and Minnesota, however, take a strict stance against this offense. In both states, the penalties can be severe, leaving a lasting impact on an individual’s personal and professional life.
Bad driving does not mean you are driving drunk. People who are not driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs may exhibit the same driving patterns as drunk drivers. Almost all police officers are trained using manuals from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. At Dusek Law, we will cross examine the police with their own training manuals.
At Dusek Law, we have more than 20 years of experience defending clients against a range of offenses. Headquartered in East Grand Forks, we are prepared to represent individuals throughout North Dakota and into Minnesota. Before paying any sort of fine, or attempting to defend yourself in court, schedule a free consultation with an attorney at our office.
Defense Lawyer For Clients In Both North Dakota And Minnesota
Each state handles criminal offenses differently. Based on the severity of the charge and your past criminal history, you might face different penalties.
North Dakota Penalties For Driving Drunk
- 1st offense: You can face penalties up to a $750 fine, two days imprisonment and a 180-day suspension.
- 2nd offense: If you have a second offense within seven years, you can face 10 days imprisonment, a $1,500 fine and up to a two-year license suspension.
- 3rd offense: If you have a third offense within seven years, you can face up to 120 days imprisonment, a $2,000 fine and a three-year license suspension.
- 4th offense: Fourth and subsequent offenses are felonies punishable by one year and one day imprisonment, a $2,000 fine and two years supervised probation.
All offenses will result in an addiction evaluation and time in the 24/7 program (2 nd offense and above).
Minnesota Penalties For Driving Drunk
- 1st offense: You can face up to one year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine. Additionally, you can potentially be subjected to one year of no driving privileges or one year of ignition interlock device, license plates impounded or vehicle forfeiture.
- 2nd offense: You can face up to one year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine in addition to vehicle forfeiture. Additionally, you can potentially be subjected to two years of no driving privileges or two years of an ignition interlock device and license plates impounded.
- 3rd offense: You will face one year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine. Your vehicle will be forfeited and you will have your license plates impounded. You will have your driver’s license canceled and you will face three years of ignition interlock device.
- 4th offense: Fourth and subsequent offenses are considered felonies. You will face seven years of imprisonment and/or a $14,000 fine. You will forfeit your vehicle and your license plates will be impounded. Your period of ignition interlock use will last between four and six years.
All penalties can be increased if you have a child in your car. Additionally, if you refuse to consent to the breath test, you can face different consequences.
Individuals in Minnesota and throughout the country may be charged with a crime if they are found in possession of drug paraphernalia. Drug paraphernalia can include small spoons, water pipes or traditional pipes that are made from glass, wood or other materials....
Individuals in Minnesota and throughout the country who are charged with drug crimes may have defenses to those charges. For instance, it may be possible to claim that an officer violated a person's Fourth Amendment rights. Generally speaking, authorities can't search...
Some things about mortgages have changed in recent years, but for the most part, they are still very complicated loans. As such, there are many kinds of professionals who work in mortgages, both with consumers seeking these loans and with the companies providing them,...
While some states have laws addressing different types of theft, Minnesota has a single theft statute. Consequences for theft vary based on value of the stolen goods and other factors. Before facing theft charges in Minnesota, understand the definition and penalties...
Being arrested for driving under the influence in Minnesota or North Dakota can be concerning. The penalties that accompany a DUI conviction are often harsh and may cause extensive problems in a person’s life with lost driving privileges, jail time and fines. In some...