Your DUI Pro
Weekends & Evening Appointments Available 24 Hours

Free Consultation 701-746-4107

Toll Free 877-387-3524

Minnesota's drunk driving laws

If you are like most Minnesota residents, you have heard people talk about just how severe the penalties for a drunk driving conviction in Minnnesota can be. But, do you really know what the law says can happen and when you might be able to be charged with a driving while intoxicated offense? This is an important thing for any driver in the state to know.

According to the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, a person with a blood alcohol content at or above 0.08 percent may be arrested for a DWI. If you are driving a commercial vehicle with a commercial driving license, the threshold for legal intoxication lowers to 0.04 percent. However, this does not mean thta if you are tested and the results show a BAC of 0.07 percent you are safe from an arrest. If an officer can prove that a drug or alcohol was part of a driving mistaken on your part, you may still be charged with a DWI.

In Minnesota, a first DWI with a BAC of 0.15 percent or lower is a misdemeanor. A fourth or subsequent DWI is a felony. All other offenses are gross misdemeanors. In addition to fines and potential time in jail, you may be required to use an ignition interlock device in order to be allowed to drive. The length of time you might need to use an IID could vary depending upon the circumstances of your case.

If you would like to learn more about protecting yourself after a drunk driving arrest, please feel free to visit the drug- or alcohol-related traffic violation page of our Minnesota criminal defense website.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Need Answers Now? Contact Us Immediately.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Contact Information

Grand Forks Office
215 A South 4th Street
Grand Forks, ND 58201

Phone: 701-746-4107
Grand Forks Law Office Map

East Grand Forks Office
712 Demers Avenue
East Grand Forks, MN 56721

Phone: 218-773-6934
Phone: 701-746-4107
East Grand Forks Law Office Map

Minot Office
201 South Main Street, Suite 200
Minot, ND 58701

Phone: 701-852-0831
Minot Law Office Map

  • National College for DUI Defense | MCMXCV | GENERAL MEMBER
  • Premier DUI - American Association Attorneys
  • NACDL - National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • state Bar Association of North Dakota

Method of Payment

VISA , Master Card , Discover Network