Your DUI Pro
Weekends & Evening Appointments Available 24 Hours

Free Consultation 701-746-4107

Toll Free 877-387-3524

Understanding North Dakota DUI guidelines

When it comes to dealing with DUI charges in the state of North Dakota, it’s important to understand that the state takes a zero-tolerance stance on all related offenses. As a result, you can find yourself confronted by serious financial and criminal penalties even if it is your first offense. The attorneys at Dusek Law are committed to educating our clients about the nature and severity of drunk-driving offenses in the state, providing sound and effective defense strategies at every stage of the process.

The North Dakota Department of Transportation outlines state drunk driving statutes, and notes that a number of factors can be taken into consideration when determining the types of charges you could face in a DUI incident. For instance, if you have a minor in your vehicle at the time of being charged with your first DUI offense, you could be sentenced to up to one year in prison in addition to or instead of a $2,000 fine. Beyond that, you could face up to five years in prison if you are found to have caused injuries in a DUI accident.

Even in cases where you have never been accused of any kind of drunk-driving offense before, you could still face jail time. A class B misdemeanor charge of drunk driving can result in two days of imprisonment if your blood alcohol content level is .16 or higher. If it is determined that your BAC level is below .18, your driver’s license could be suspended for 91 days. No matter what your BAC level is, however, you may be charged with hundreds of dollars in legal penalties.

The severity of charges that you face increases with the frequency and number of DUI incidents in your history. That is why mounting an effective DUI defense now can have such a profound impact on your life in the future. Learn more about drunk-driving defense strategies by visiting our web page today.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information

Need Answers Now? Contact Us Immediately.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Contact Information

Dusek Law
712 Demers Avenue
East Grand Forks, MN 56721

Toll Free: 877-387-3524
Phone: 701-746-4107
Phone: 218-773-6934
Fax: 218-793-0013
East Grand Forks Law Office Map


Dusek Law Mobile App

Install the mobile application on your smart phone today!

  • National College for DUI Defense | MCMXCV | GENERAL MEMBER
  • Premier DUI - American Association Attorneys
  • NACDL - National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
  • state Bar Association of North Dakota
  • Minnesota state Bar Association

Method of Payment

VISA , Master Card , Discover Network